Get Yahoo! Toolbar

Account Options

Hi, KevinSign OutHelp
  • Ask
  • Answer
  • Discover
  1. Home >
  2. Home & Garden >
  3. Garden & Landscape >
  4. Resolved Question
leslier77 leslier7...
Member since:
December 26, 2007
Total points:
98 (Level 1)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

Recent Garden Gate article..best and worst mail order company?

I don't have the recent issue in front of me and was wondering if someone could provide me with this information. There was an article stating the top 5 and worst 5 mail order companies. Could you please recite those for me... Thanks.
  • 2 years ago
ANGEL by ANGEL
Member since:
July 10, 2006
Total points:
42506 (Level 7)

Best Answer - Chosen by Voters

I don't have the magazine, but I found this : "Garden Crossings was rated as one of the TOP 5 mail-order nurseries by Garden Watchdog, in the January/February 2008 issue of Garden Gate Magazine. In this article written by Jim Childs, Jim spoke with Dave Whitinger of Dave's Garden on the must know mail-order tips. The article pointed out 6 must know tips when ordering plants through a catalog or online. This is a must read for anyone looking to add plants to their garden through a mail-order source this spring."
http://www.gardencrossings.com/index.cfm…

From Dave's Garden: "These 30 companies are currently the most highly rated within our entire database. Each of them is listed here because of feedback from their customers."
http://davesgarden.com/products/gwd/
Company
Antique Rose Emporium: "Out of more than 5,700 mail order gardening companies in the Garden Watchdog, your customer feeback places you among the top 5%" http://www.antiqueroseemporium.com/
Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co.
Bluestone Perennials
Brent & Becky's Bulbs
Brushwood Nursery: no negative feedback
http://www.gardenvines.com/catalog/
Buried Treasures
Chamblee's Rose Nursery
Classy Groundcovers: no negative feedback
http://classygroundcovers.com/?affl=dg
Direct Source Hostas
ECOLAGE: no negative feedback
http://ecolage.safeshopper.com/
Forestfarm
Garden Crossings LLC
Garden Store-N-More 100 positive feed back
http://www.gardenstore-n-more.com/servle…
Gardener's Supply Company
Hallson Gardens: 100% positive feedback
http://www.perennialnursery.com/
High Country Gardens
Katz Kuntry Kuttins
Lazy S'S Farm & Nursery
Lee Valley Tools, Ltd.
Logee's Greenhouses, Ltd.
Made in the Shade Gardens: 100% positive feedback
http://www.hostaguy.com/
Oakes Daylilies
Old House Gardens - Heirloom Bulbs: 100% positive feedback, http://www.oldhousegardens.com/
Onalee's Home-Grown Seeds & Plants: 100% positive feedback
http://onaleeseeds.bizhosting.com/index.…
Paradise Garden
Select Seeds Antique Flowers
Sooner Plant Farm (home of Imagine Backyard Trees®) Territorial Seed Company
The Tasteful Garden
Touch of Nature, Inc. No negative feedback
http://www.touchofnature.com/

Article on good & bad plant mail-order companies:
http://www.faqs.org/faqs/gardens/plants-…

Mother Earth News's Honor Roll of seed companies offering a good, varied selection of open- pollinated vegetable and flower seeds, as well as untreated and/or organically grown seeds:
1. Baker Creek Heirloom Seed http://www.rareseeds.com/
2. Bountiful Gardens www.bountifulgardens.org
3. Cook’s Garden www.cooksgarden.com
4. FEDCO Seeds www.fedcoseeds.com
5. Heirloom Seeds www.heirloomseeds.com
6. High Mowing Organic Seeds www.highmowingseeds.com
7. Johnny’s Selected Seeds www.johnnyseeds.com
8. Natural Gardening Co www.naturalgardening.com
9. Nichols Garden Nursery www.nicholsgardennursery.com
10. Peaceful Valley Farm Supply www.groworganic.com
11. Salt Spring Seeds www.saltspringseeds.com
12. Seeds of Change www.seedsofchange.com
13. Seed Savers Exchange www.seedsavers.org
14. Seeds for the South www.seedsforthesouth.com
15. Seeds Trust www.seedstrust.com
16. Southern Exposure Seed Exchange
www.southernexposure.com
17. Sow Organic Seed Co www.organicseed.com
18. Territorial Seed Co www.territorial-seed.com
19. Underwood Gardens www.underwoodgardens.com
20. Victory Seeds www.victoryseeds.com
http://www.motherearthnews.com/Organic-G…

Good Luck! Hope this is helpful.
  • 2 years ago
100% 1 Vote

Thanks. Join Answers to ask your own questions.

There are currently no comments for this question.

Other Answers (0)

No other answers.

Answers International

Yahoo! does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo! Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo! Answers. Tell us what you think.