Goldenstar, Green and Gold {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

Like overgrown buttercups, Chrysogonum virginianum 'Pierre', commonly known as Goldenstar, resembles thousand of small butterscotches atop pillows of green. This low growing, herbaceous mat-forming plant, is similar in structure to Ajuga.

Prized for a long blooming time, the star-shaped sunny-yellow flowers (1- 1 1/2 inches long) dot mint-like foliage in early spring and continue sporadically throughout the summer. Superb in terms of both spread and degree to which it propagates flowers, Pierre creates a delightful ground cover or edging in any perennial border.

Though Pierre does bear fruit, it is non-ornamental. The real focal point of this plant is the semi-evergreen, jade-green opposite leaves that are round-toothed along the edges, and reach 1-2 inches long. Excellent as a facer in naturalized gardens, 'Pierre' is especially useful for partial shade borders where, when in bloom, the flowers resemble tiny night lights in the darker shade.

With a limited tolerance of foot traffic and a fair to good weed-suppressant rating, as well as a willingness to tolerate a wide range of well-drained, moist soils, this hardy perennial is an almost fool-proof choice.

Because it spreads indefinitely, you can plant Pierre in large areas where you need expansive coverage and have the added benefit of long-lasting bloom season with golden blossoms polka dotting a carpet of green foliage.

Interesting Facts
Pierre is native to North Carolina and as such, is lovely in woodland garden scenes.

Things to Note
If grown in full sun, Pierre may need more water.

In zones 8-9, this plant will require afternoon or full shade.

Gardener Tips
Pierre is a perfect gentleman combined with evergreen and deciduous shrubs, small trees, ferns, and herbaceous perennials.

Black Eyed Susan and Mary Todd Daylilies are a lovely duo to join with Pierre for a sunny-side up display of blossoms.
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Pierre review
04/23/2019 By Paul Hernandez Cuebas (PA)
Product reviewed: Goldenstar, Green and Gold {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

04/23/2019 Update Best plants I ever had shipped to me in perfect shape we're beautiful and well grown with great root structure.
Beautiful plants
10/23/2018 By Arthur Camobell
Product reviewed: Goldenstar, Green and Gold {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

10/23/2018 Update My order arrived quickly and the plants were packed very well.They were fresh,green, and well watered .
You couldn’t ask for more.
Goldenstar
08/24/2018 By Jack McDaniel
Product reviewed: Goldenstar, Green and Gold {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

08/24/2018 Update Plants arrived on schedule and packaging was very good. All 25 plants were in excellent condition and are now thriving in one of our beds. Very satisfied!
Goldstar plants
05/02/2018 By George Fetrow
Product reviewed: Goldenstar, Green and Gold {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

05/02/2018 Update Arrived in very good condition. I planted them the same day. They are doing fine

04/21/2018 Update I purchased these plants last fall and planted them at that time. They are doing great this spring. I am very, very happy with them! I plan to purchase more for another location in my yard. Based on my experience with the ones I purchased... Read full review >
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Chrysogonum virginianum 'Pierre'
(AKA Golden Star, Goldenknees, Golden Knees)
Pronunciation: kris-SOG-oh-num vur-jin-ee-AN-num

FREE SHIPPING!
$126.75 for 1 pack of 25 plants ($5.07 per plant)
10-39 packs: $119.25 per pack ($4.77 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
Temporarily out of stock. Expected 02/28/2020.

Related Products


Sunny Native Mix #1, 20% off: 10 Trumpet Creeper, 25 Goldenstar, Green and Gold, 25 Coreopsis 'Nana', 25 Southern Shield Fern, 25 Phlox 'Blue Emerald'
On sale: $447.36
Regularly: $559.20
Out of stock.
Expected 03/06/2020
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.