Blue Star Creeper {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

If what you are seeking is an old English cottage garden feel or a filler for between patio stones, you absolutely must consider Laurentia f. 'Blue', commonly referred to as Blue Star Creeper. Though she is similar to Pratia pedunculata, Lobelia pedunculata and other plants commonly sold as Blue Star Creeper, in truth, she is shorter, more resistant to foot traffic, and has more symmetric delicate, dainty periwinkle star-shaped blooms from late spring until early fall.

Speaking of her flowers, Blue Star offers an abundance of lovely, delicate, star-shaped, sky-blue (3/8-inch) blossoms that emerge in late spring and persist until early fall. Lush, vibrant green foliage spreads to form a dense, low mat which when left to her own devices, will slowly carpet empty spaces with thick green beauty.

Blue Star tolerates moderately heavy foot traffic; it is perfect as a lawn substitute, for fern or rock gardens, or between stepping stones. Evergreen in warmer climates, semi-evergreen in colder climates, Blue Star prefers moist soil and has a moderate to fast growth rate.

Adding instant age and elegance to a new garden, Blue will create not only color but also textural richness. This is the type of plant that will make you want to put in stepping stones just to enjoy her foliage and intricate blue blossoms as they lazily wander around the path.

Things to Note
If planting in zone 5, check with your local cooperative extension to confirm winter hardiness in your area.

Gardener Tips
When planting between stepping stones that have narrow gaps (or in other narrow rows), you can separate each plant into 2-4 smaller plants and plant them closer together. This will fill in gaps more uniformly and efficiently. See the "Care" tab for more information.

Blue Star is excellent for planting over lilies and other bulbs: it adds another layer of color, and shades roots without interfering with their growth.

Her height varies depending on sun exposure. Mature height is flatter in full sun and fluffier in partial shade.
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Blue Star Creeper
04/11/2018 By Christy Minton
Product reviewed: Blue Star Creeper {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

04/11/2018 Update Received very health plants however I cannot reply as to how they will grow as they have recently been planted.

Christy
Very healthy
04/03/2018 By Bea Mueller
Product reviewed: Blue Star Creeper {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

04/03/2018 Update These arrived on schedule, moist and healthy. Will order from you again.

10/25/2017 Update I was hesitant to order plants online but my experience with Classy Groundcovers has been perfect. I ordered Blue Star Creeper twice and again today for the third time. Each delivery was received on time in perfect condition. The previous... Read full review >

08/08/2017 Update Anytime I need ground cover plants, I will order from Classy Ground covers. I received my package in excellent condition within two days of my order. Everything was perfect!

Linda Dandois
healthy plants
06/21/2017 By greg artman
Product reviewed: Blue Star Creeper {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

06/21/2017 Update arrived well packaged and moist. Healthy plants. Planted today so we will see but confident they will thrive.
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
If using between pavers or stepping stones, it is recommended that you plant them such that the soil level is one to one-and-a-half inches below the top of the walking surface to allow room for the plants to compress when stepped on.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Laurentia fluviatilis 'Blue'
(AKA Lobelia/Isotoma fluviatilis, Pratia puberula, P. pedunculata, Swamp Isotome, Matted Pratia)
Pronunciation: lore-EN-tee-ah FLOO-vee-ah-till-iss

FREE SHIPPING!
$119.25 for 1 pack of 25 plants ($4.77 per plant)
10-39 packs: $111.75 per pack ($4.47 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
In stock.
pack(s) of 25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Sunny Blue Deer Mix, 20% off: 25 Bugleweed 'Chocolate Chip', 25 Dwarf Plumbago, Hardy Blue Plumbago, 25 Blue Star Creeper
On sale: $282.20
Regularly: $352.75
Out of stock.
Expected 02/28/2020
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.