Creeping St. John's Wort {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

Brilliant canary-yellow blossoms crown the semi-evergreen leaves of Hypericum calycinum (commonly called St. John's Wort) from early summer to early fall. Many consider it one of the finest, most dramatic groundcovers available, and simply put, the flowers, with their explosion of tiny whiskers in the center of five yellow petals, are show-stoppers on this low-maintenance plant often used as a shrub or ground cover.

What is splendid about St. John's Wort is that after the bright yellow petals are spent and fall, sepals remain and look like a smaller yellowish green flower offering a constant show. Not to be outdone by the blazing yellow blossoms (3 inches in diameter), St. John's Wort foliage puts on quite a display as well with 1 inch wide ovate leaves that emerge chartreuse-bronzed then quickly turn medium-green, followed by dark-green and finally, in autumn, turn a deep purplish blue-green.

This groundcover has a dense, trailing, semi-woody habit making St. John's Wort an excellent choice for rock gardens, border fronts, naturalized plantings, erosion control, for stabilizing embankments/hillsides and for planting under trees as it has no trouble competing with shallow tree roots. We recommend St. John's Wort for somewhat large to very vast areas as it will spread moderately fast by rhizomes.

It prefers moist, well-drained, average-fertility soils in partial shade; however, it is tolerant of heat, drought, poor or sandy soils, various soil pHs, and some soil compaction. Whether let to grow over a vast area or kept confined, this groundcover offers an incredible display with her golden blossoms and constantly changing foliage.

Things to Note
One of very few effective groundcovers for dry, shady areas.

In Zones 5 and 6, winters may kill its top growth to the ground.

Though not a vine, its behavior is so similar, we include it in the search results for vines, so keep that in mind when planting.

Happy in full sun in zones 5/6, it prefers afternoon shade in zones 7-10.

Interesting Facts
St. John's Wort has been used for medicinal purposes throughout history. Though controversial, herbalists prescribe its use for ailments ranging from depression, insomnia, inflammation, kidney problems, lung issues and bacterial infections.

This ground cover is indigenous to Southeast Europe and Southwest Asia.

Another common name for St John's Wort is "Aaron's Beard" because of the whisker-like stamen that protrude from its center.
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Excellent plants
04/23/2019 By Susan Borge (FL)
Product reviewed: Creeping St. John's Wort {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

04/23/2019 Update This is the second time I’ve ordered these creeping St. John’s Wort plants. The batch I got last year were so successful and so attractive after a year in the ground, I decided to fill in some more areas with them. I’m in zone 9a,... Read full review >
St.John’s Wort
07/26/2018 By Gayle Wilson
Product reviewed: Creeping St. John's Wort {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

07/26/2018 Update The plants came through in good shape except for two.Hopefully,they will come back.

=============
07/26/2018 Classy Groundcovers comment:
If any do not recover, let us know and we will refund you for them.
creeping St John's Wort
05/08/2018 By Elizabeth Barthmaier
Product reviewed: Creeping St. John's Wort {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

05/08/2018 Update My plants arrived timely for planting in my climate zone. They were packed well and arrived in great shape. They look beautiful in the garden. I am so pleased with this purchase.
St John's wort
04/10/2018 By GEORGE DEPANICIS
Product reviewed: Creeping St. John's Wort {54 Pots - 2 1/2 in.}

04/10/2018 Update Purchased them 3 or 4 years ago. They were ok, but they never flowered like I had thought. They have spread, but no flowers.
George
Creeping St. john's Wort
10/25/2017 By Jennifer Newman 2
Product reviewed: Creeping St. John's Wort {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

10/25/2017 Update I have the shrubs and love them, am looking forward to trying the groundcover.

Beautiful little plants!
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
St John’s Wort only flowers on new growth, so don’t be afraid to trim or even, every year or two in winter or early spring, mow it right to the ground to rejuvenate it. At the very least, cut it back in early spring for the best blooms.

It accepts a radical shearing if you want to extend the bloom period and keep it compact/low-growing.
In areas where spreading is not desired, trim back the runners before they take root or prune ruthlessly once a year.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Hypericum calycinum
(AKA Aaron's Beard, Jerusalem Star, Rose of Sharon)
Pronunciation: hy-PARE-ih-kum kal-ISS-in-um

FREE SHIPPING!
$126.75 for 1 pack of 25 plants ($5.07 per plant)
10-39 packs: $119.25 per pack ($4.77 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
In stock.
pack(s) of 25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.