Ostrich Fern {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

Matteuccia struthiopteris, commonly called Fiddlehead or Ostrich Fern, offers an erect, feathery plume of vibrant, lush green, divided, lanceolate fronds that arch gracefully outward into a symmetric clump. So interesting to watch grow and examine at all maturity levels, Ostrich Fern has a magnificently dramatic effect when used for naturalizing foliage backdrops, foundations, boundaries, and fresh arrangements.

It grows from an entirely vertical crown but sends out lateral stolons to form new crowns. This unique trait makes Ostrich fern perfect for resisting floodwater destruction (like creek banks) because it can form such dense colonies.

Ostrich fern will reward you with a quick-growing, lush thicket if you treat her to a light mulching of leaves around slightly exposed crowns. She does require moist soil, especially in hot, dry climates and prefers loamy, humus-rich soil in partial shade with only morning sun. If you do have heavy, clay soil, you will find that Ostrich Fern is also willing to grow there, and will reward you even more handsomely if you amend the soil.

Edible tightly wound immature fronds (called fiddleheads) appear in spring, offering a delightful addition to your cooking repertoire as well as visual texture and interest to the garden. Fertile fronds are produced after the vegetative fronds and persist throughout the following winter; the spores shed in mid-winter.

Winter dormant with a moderate growth rate, under good conditions you can expect Ostrich Fern to spread resonably fast by stout rhizomes.

People love this fern because it is low-maintenance and easy to grow while offering reliable, rich color and height to full shade gardens.

Things to Note
Sunlight in zones 8-10 must be minimal or indirect.

After spring, these are trimmed cut back to about 8 inches tall for shipment and will arrive as such.

Interesting Fact
Edible fiddleheads are considered a delicacy and have been named Vermont's state vegetable. Try cooking these delightful vegetables by simply harvesting when about two inches from the ground and still tightly rolled. Treat them as you would asparagus or try them in quiches and soups. Delicious!

Gardener Tips
Ostrich ferns will grow quite large, but keep in mind that the larger they are the more moisture they will require.

Ostrich ferns will thrive in deep shade, but anticipate them to be smaller than if they were placed in partial shade when planning your garden.

If you are considering purchasing this plant in bare root form, please read about bare root plants so you know what to expect.
General information about Ferns:
When gardeners and landscape designers are looking for a dramatic, vibrant spray of color and foliage, they will often consider ferns for their project. In addition to sweeping texture and lush greenery, ferns work wonderfully as independent or companion perennials.

Perfect in mass plantings where they create the feeling of a field of grass swaying gently in soft breezes, ferns are also delightful as borders where they stand like shapely chartreuse soldiers at the edges of garden beds. Then again, when used as accents, in single plantings, or clusters amidst a rock garden, you have a moving work of willowy art.

But what to choose? You’ll be pleased to know that after more than 40 years of experimenting with various ferns, we have compiled a selection of the easiest to grow and hardiest ferns.Essentially, we’ve narrowed the list down for you, so you can select from our varieties with confidence. A bonus with our ferns is that all, except Japanese Painted Fern and Japanese Shield Fern are native to the United States.

Our ferns generally thrive in part shade and full shade. Have a full sun location? Southern Shield Fern even tolerates full sun! You will love the hardiness of our ferns as all of them are tolerant of drought and most are rarely eaten by deer.

Selections like Christmas Fern are wonderful erosion control options. With some ferns being evergreen and some semi-evergreen, you are sure to find the option that works wonderfully for your garden. Be sure to check each plant's Description tab for details.

See all ferns
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Excellent
05/24/2016 By Abi D'Sa
Product reviewed: Ostrich Fern {25 Bare Root plants}

05/24/2016 Update The 25 ostrich ferns arrived on time and were in dormant but excellent shape.
Followup on ordered Ostrich Ferns
05/22/2016 By J Henry Rodriguez
Product reviewed: Ostrich Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

05/22/2016 Update Ordered and received 10 bulbs quick and packaged well. We followed soil prep and some little organic feed mixture instructions. As of this third week in ground with plenty of Heaven's water & some of our own; we now have 7 plants that are... Read full review >
Order of Ostrich Ferns
05/18/2016 By John Spargo
Product reviewed: Ostrich Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

05/18/2016 Update I am satisfied with the bare root ferns that I received. The plants appear to be healthy and the condition of the plants matched my expectations.
Beautiful bare root specimens
05/13/2016 By Donald Stimely
Product reviewed: Ostrich Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

05/13/2016 Update Wonderful large, dense bare root ferns. 9 of ten sprouted within 24 hours of planting the 10th came along a day or two later.
Love my ferns !
04/26/2016 By Richard Jellig
Product reviewed: Ostrich Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

04/26/2016 Update The ferns I ordered came right on time and nice and fresh wrapped in a plastic bag . I planted them the next day and two days later new sprouts are popping out of the ground . I will definitely be buying more plants from here !!
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Performs best in well-drained (but moist) soil with added organic compost or peat moss. Best not to allow soil to dry out.
Ferns have delicate foliage that often suffers during shipment and transplanting. Cut off any foliage that is broken, bent, brown or yellow - the plants will quickly recuperate with fresh growth. Bare root ferns are particularly prone to foliage loss, it is not uncommon to have to cut them off at ground level when transplanting. As long as the roots are firm they will recover, showing new growth within weeks during warm months.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Matteuccia struthiopteris
(AKA M. pensylvanica, M. pennsylvanica, Pteris nodulosa, S. filicastrum, S. pensylvanica, Osmunda struthiopteris, Fiddlehead Fern, Garden Fern, Hardy Fern, Shuttlecock Fern)
Pronunciation: muh-TEW-kee-uh stroo-thee-OP-tur-iss

FREE SHIPPING!
$166.75 for 1 pack of 25 plants ($6.67 per plant)
10-39 packs: $161.75 per pack ($6.47 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
In stock.
pack(s) of 25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Ferns, 20% off: 25 Japanese Painted + 25 Cinnamon Ferns
On sale: $178.80
Regularly: $223.50
On Sale!

Lady Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Japanese Painted Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Hay-scented Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Hay-scented Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Japanese Shield Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Southern Shield Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Cinnamon Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Cinnamon Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Royal Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Royal Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Royal Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Christmas Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Christmas Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Ostrich Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$67.70 for 10 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 05/08/2020
Email when available

Ostrich Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$121.75 for 25 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 05/08/2020
Email when available

Christmas Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 02/28/2020
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.