Japanese Shield Fern {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

Imagine the flickering flames of a fireplace or the copper blaze of a campfire, and you have the perfect picture of Japanese Shield Fern when her fronds first emerge. Lovely pumpkin-bronze fronds (11-28 inches tall and 5-14 inches broad) explode from the ground and when mature, turn a gratifying green hue.

Evergreen in mild climates, Japanese Shield Fern is a dwarf fern, excellent for borders and mass plantings where she is happy to control erosion. With her slow to moderate growth rate, she tolerates drought drought, but prefers well drained, moist humus-rich acidic soil.

You should know she will not tolerate heat or mid- to late-day sun, though morning sun is alright. Additionally, she will not put up with soil that is poorly draining, or packed hard. She will perform famously if planted in light, woodland shade on low mountains or hills. Japanese Shield Fern boasts bipinnate fronds with 8-20 pairs of pinnae.

In an otherwise shaded environment, Japanese Shield Fern becomes a lovely glow of warm rusty color shifting to a glimmering green later in season making her a true center-piece of any garden. Dryopteris erythrosora is a species of fern native to eastern Asia from China and Japan to the Philippines.

Things to Note
If you live in a city where automobile pollution is high, you should not consider Japanese Shield Fern.

Gardener Tips
Consider planting Japanese Shield Fern with clumps of Black Mondo Grass for striking diversity in color resulting in a perennial shade rainbow. You will adore the results.
General information about Ferns:
When gardeners and landscape designers are looking for a dramatic, vibrant spray of color and foliage, they will often consider ferns for their project. In addition to sweeping texture and lush greenery, ferns work wonderfully as independent or companion perennials.

Perfect in mass plantings where they create the feeling of a field of grass swaying gently in soft breezes, ferns are also delightful as borders where they stand like shapely chartreuse soldiers at the edges of garden beds. Then again, when used as accents, in single plantings, or clusters amidst a rock garden, you have a moving work of willowy art.

But what to choose? You’ll be pleased to know that after more than 40 years of experimenting with various ferns, we have compiled a selection of the easiest to grow and hardiest ferns.Essentially, we’ve narrowed the list down for you, so you can select from our varieties with confidence. A bonus with our ferns is that all, except Japanese Painted Fern and Japanese Shield Fern are native to the United States.

Our ferns generally thrive in part shade and full shade. Have a full sun location? Southern Shield Fern even tolerates full sun! You will love the hardiness of our ferns as all of them are tolerant of drought and most are rarely eaten by deer.

Selections like Christmas Fern are wonderful erosion control options. With some ferns being evergreen and some semi-evergreen, you are sure to find the option that works wonderfully for your garden. Be sure to check each plant's Description tab for details.

Special note when planting bare root ferns in hot weather: If you plant bare root ferns during hot weather it is common for the foliage to die off. Do not fret, as long as you keep them moist they will grow back foliage. Depending on the severity of the heat it might not be until after summer ends.

See all ferns
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review

10/09/2018 These ferns are fabulous in the landscape. Virtually trouble free and look good most of the year here in zone 6B. My order arrived swiftly and in great shape. The plants were robust, well-rooted and healthy. Love, Classy Groundcovers!

10/25/2017 These ferns are the best!....come in a good size and grow well the first season. Are pretty drought and heat tolerant too.
Strong plants
04/20/2017 By Katherine Titus
Product reviewed: Japanese Shield Fern {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

04/20/2017 with developed root systems and good growth. Looking forward to a great display in a year or two.

10/13/2016 I searched high and low for a plant that would be a good fit for my full shade backyard that could provide greenery and color year-round. I finally came across the Autumn Fern on Classy Groundcovers and was convinced it was the perfect. It even... Read full review >
Autumn ferns
09/21/2015 By Mamie Atkinson
Product reviewed: Japanese Shield Fern {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

09/21/2015 Plants were beautiful and healthy when they arrived. They are now planted and I can not wait to see this bed next spring. I will be ordering much more. Thanks for the the prompt delivery.
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Performs best in well-drained (but moist) soil with added organic compost or peat moss. Best not to allow soil to dry out.
Will tolerate sun if given enough moisture.
Ferns have delicate foliage that often suffers during shipment and transplanting. Cut off any foliage that is broken, bent, brown or yellow - the plants will quickly recuperate with fresh growth. Bare root ferns are particularly prone to foliage loss, it is not uncommon to have to cut them off at ground level when transplanting. As long as the roots are firm they will recover, showing new growth within weeks during warm months.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Dryopteris erythrosora
(AKA Aspidium erythrosora, Dryopteris bulligera, Dryopteris distantipinna, Dryopteris linyingensis, Dryopteris oblongipinnula, Japanese Wood Fern, Autumn Fern)
Pronunciation: dry-OP-ter-iss er-ith-roe-SOR-ah
Product: 162

FREE SHIPPING!
25 - 249: $6.97 each250 - 999: $6.67 each
1000 - 2499: $6.34 each2500 - 4999: $6.20 each
5000 - 9999: $6.00 each10000 - 19999: $5.67 each
20000+: $5.34 each
In stock.
(minimum of 25) 3 1/2 in. Pots
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Hay-scented Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 10
$5.17 or less

Christmas Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 10
$5.17 or less

Hay-scented Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 25
$3.47 or less

Christmas Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 25
$3.47 or less

Japanese Painted Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$7.27 or less

Royal Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$7.27 or less

Christmas Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$7.27 or less

Cinnamon Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 10
$5.17 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 04/18/2022
Email when available

Royal Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 10
$5.17 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 04/18/2022
Email when available

Cinnamon Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 25
$3.87 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 04/18/2022
Email when available

Royal Fern
Bare Root Plants,
min 25
$3.87 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 04/18/2022
Email when available

Southern Shield Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$6.97 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 12/13/2021
Email when available

Lady Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$7.27 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 03/28/2022
Email when available

Ostrich Fern
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$8.67 or less
Out of stock.
Expected 11/08/2021
Email when available

20% off Ferns: 25 Japanese Painted + 25 Cinnamon Ferns
On sale: $222.80
Regularly: $278.50
On Sale!
Out of stock.
Expected 04/18/2022
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.