Creeping Lily Turf {25 Bare Root plants}

If you need something with grassy-green foliage and a late season bloom, you will love Liriope spicata with its narrow (1/4 inch wide) slender leaves that reach up to 18 inches in height.

If you are considering purchasing this plant in bare root form, please read about bare root plants so you know what to expect.


- See all Liriope muscari
- See all Liriope spicata
General information about Liriope spicata (Creeping Lily Turf):
Liriope spicata offers late summer cloudy lavender to cottony white flower spikes that rise out of feathery foliage on 10 inch shoots. In late fall, these flowers often give way to blackish berries.

In southern zones, you’ll find Liriope spicata remains an evergreen tuft and is virtually indestructible in stubborn areas like the base of trees where roots otherwise impede growth. On slopes and banks, she is stellar at erosion control, and forming a mat that gracefully chokes out most weeds, filling any empty spots in a garden with her beauty.

If you need a quick-growing perennial, you will love that she spreads moderately to very fast by underground rhizomes, its foliage resembles very vigorous turf grass, hence the common name. While not ideal for borders plantings, many gardeners choose it as a low-maintenance turf substitute for low foot traffic areas because unlike most groundcovers where leaf litter can get entangled, spicata's fallen leaves can easily be raked free from its linear foliage.

The hardiness of this plant is really the show-stopper here. It puts up with drought, poor soil, heat, humidity, slopes and moist areas; it performs best in moist, fertile soils. Additionally, spicata is moderately tolerant of salt and deer tend to avoid it, making it perfect for people with pests.

Gardeners love to use Liriope spicata along streams, ponds, and boulders or in rock gardens, along paths, and under shallow-rooted trees where she promises to thrive.

Important note about bare root Liriope
Liriope is not like other perennials, it grows much slower the first year when transplanted from bare roots than from potted plants. Do not expect much growth the first season after transplanting bare roots. If you seek substantial growth the first summer after transplanting, buy potted plants.

See all Liriope
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Good Quality Prompt Shipping
05/02/2019 By David Haarz (VA)
Product reviewed: Creeping Lily Turf {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

05/02/2019 Update I received these plants the same week I ordered them.
They were received in very good condition and have been planted and seem to be doing well.
Always pleased
04/27/2019 By Marisa Kalt (CT)
Product reviewed: Creeping Lily Turf {50 Bare Root plants}

04/27/2019 Update I'm always pleased with the quality of the plants. We use the Liriope Spicata to spread in areas that grass won't grow, and it works great. They arrive in good condition and at the right time.
Classy Company
04/26/2019 By Trusten Lee (IN)
Product reviewed: Creeping Lily Turf {50 Bare Root plants}

04/26/2019 Update The plants arrived in great shape as they always seem too. We are planning on getting 400 per week. It takes us about 45min to plant 50. We use a cordless drill with a long auger to drill the planting holes and the other person plants after... Read full review >
Creeping Lily Turf
04/26/2019 By Sally Ryan (MI)
Product reviewed: Creeping Lily Turf {25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}

04/26/2019 Update These plants arrived in great and shape and are in the ground. So far they all look healthy and I'm watering them was needed. Your service and help with the choice were excellent and you'll be hearing from me again.

03/21/2019 Update Thanks so much for your great customer service.
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
In northern zones where winter snow will crush the foliage, consider shearing (or mowing on high) in late fall or very early spring to avoid a period of ratty-looking dead foliage in the spring that can impede new spring growth.

Shearing in southern zones is optional, you may elect to do it just to maintain the most attractive appearance.
This plant can be susceptible to Anthracnose, especially in southern zones. If it develops brown spots in winter, cut the foliage back (to the ground is OK) in early spring.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Liriope spicata
(AKA Creeping Liriope, Lilyturf, Monkey Grass)
Pronunciation: lih-RY-oh-pee spi-CAH-ta

FREE SHIPPING!
$46.75 for 1 pack of 25 plants ($1.87 per plant)
2-9 packs: $26.75 per pack ($1.07 per plant)
10-39 packs: $21.75 per pack ($0.87 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
In stock.
pack(s) of 25 Bare Root plants
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Lily Turf 'Big Blue'
{25 Bare Root plants}
$46.75 for 25 plants

Lily Turf 'Big Blue'
{50 Bare Root plants}
$53.50 for 50 plants

Lily Turf 'Big Blue'
{54 Pots - 2 1/2 in.}
$133.38 for 54 plants

Creeping Lily Turf
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$94.25 for 25 plants

Creeping Lily Turf
{50 Bare Root plants}
$53.50 for 50 plants

Creeping Lily Turf
{54 Pots - 2 1/2 in.}
$133.38 for 54 plants

Lily Turf 'Big Blue'
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$94.25 for 25 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 05/15/2020
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.