Christmas Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

Aptly nicknamed, Polystichum acrostichoides, commonly called Christmas Fern, is a favorite evergreen fern everyone loves to place in patches throughout their gardens. Its lanceolate emerald fronds are divided and leathery with hardy, holly-like leaflets and edible silvery spring-time fiddleheads.

Typically, it grows in fountain-like clumps with the fronds sprouting out of a solitary crown which, over the years, makes a very large, dense mound.

Christmas Fern shows her foliage off when she is used as a borders, edging and along foundations or walls. Difficult spaces with little soil don't intimidate this fern and you'll be surprised at how adaptable and willing to grow she is.

Christmas Fern is low maintenance, easy-to-grow, and deer tend to avoid her. When placed on slight slopes, especially drier, rocky ones, mass plantings of Christmas fern will provide a lush hillside of green that doubles as erosion control.

Interesting Facts
Edible fiddleheads are considered a delicacy and have been named Vermont's state vegetable. Try cooking these delightful vegetables by simply harvesting when about two inches from the ground and still tightly rolled. Treat them as you would asparagus or try them in quiches and soups. Delicious!


Christmas Fern is a Missouri native found in ravines and on humid banks and wooded slopes.

The common name "Christmas Fern" comes from its evergreen nature and its past use as Christmas decoration; its pinnae even resemble small Christmas stockings.

Gardener Tips
With her slow to moderate growth rate, Christmas Fern grows very little in the first season. Consider purchasing more plants initially for quicker coverage with the bonus of being able to divide her after a few years.

Polystichum acrostichoides' fronds are often used in flower arrangements.

This fern will not disappoint you in a rock garden coupled with such beauties as Creeping Jenny. to blanket the ground and Lavender for vivid contrasts in texture and colors of foliage. Add Coral Bells to soften the garden and provide lovely flower spikes.

If you are considering purchasing this plant in bare root form, please read about bare root plants so you know what to expect.
General information about Ferns:
When gardeners and landscape designers are looking for a dramatic, vibrant spray of color and foliage, they will often consider ferns for their project. In addition to sweeping texture and lush greenery, ferns work wonderfully as independent or companion perennials.

Perfect in mass plantings where they create the feeling of a field of grass swaying gently in soft breezes, ferns are also delightful as borders where they stand like shapely chartreuse soldiers at the edges of garden beds. Then again, when used as accents, in single plantings, or clusters amidst a rock garden, you have a moving work of willowy art.

But what to choose? You’ll be pleased to know that after more than 40 years of experimenting with various ferns, we have compiled a selection of the easiest to grow and hardiest ferns.Essentially, we’ve narrowed the list down for you, so you can select from our varieties with confidence. A bonus with our ferns is that all, except Japanese Painted Fern and Japanese Shield Fern are native to the United States.

Our ferns generally thrive in part shade and full shade. Have a full sun location? Southern Shield Fern even tolerates full sun! You will love the hardiness of our ferns as all of them are tolerant of drought and most are rarely eaten by deer.

Selections like Christmas Fern are wonderful erosion control options. With some ferns being evergreen and some semi-evergreen, you are sure to find the option that works wonderfully for your garden. Be sure to check each plant's Description tab for details.

See all ferns
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Christmas ferns
12/24/2015 By David Sutton
Product reviewed: Christmas Fern {25 Bare Root plants}

12/24/2015 Update Planted this week. Ferns look great and I very much appreciate that classygroundcovers allowed me to delay shipping until I felt well enough to plant them. Very personal and professional. Look forward to my next order.
Healthy Ferns
11/29/2015 By Deborah Butler
Product reviewed: Christmas Fern {25 Bare Root plants}

11/29/2015 Update My ferns arrived promptly and I planted them immediately. It was easy to do, and they are looking great after several weeks in the ground, and the deer have not bothered them.
Very Good Roots
10/27/2015 By Katherine Titus
Product reviewed: Christmas Fern {25 Bare Root plants}

10/27/2015 Update This is my third order as I expand my planting area.
I'm happy
Ferns received are healthy
07/29/2015 By Rachel Stella
Product reviewed: Christmas Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

07/29/2015 Update I received 10 ferns and they arrived earlier than I expected. I planted them in a pot for 3 days before I actually planted them. Very healthy and in good shape.
Slow Growing
06/23/2015 By Janette Wilcox
Product reviewed: Christmas Fern {10 Bare Root plants}

06/23/2015 Update Four of the plants did not grow at all. The others still have only 1 or 2 small fonds.

06/23/2015 ============= Classy Groundcovers comment:

Hi Janette,

Can we send you replacements?
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Ferns have delicate foliage that often suffers during shipment and transplanting. Cut off any foliage that is broken, bent, brown or yellow - the plants will quickly recuperate with fresh growth. Bare root ferns are particularly prone to foliage loss, it is not uncommon to have to cut them off at ground level when transplanting. As long as the roots are firm they will recover, showing new growth within weeks during warm months.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Polystichum acrostichoides
(AKA Nephrodium acrostichoides, Dagger Fern, Polystic Faux-acrostiche)
Pronunciation: pol-ISS-tih-kum ak-roe-stik-OY-deez

FREE SHIPPING!
$45.70 for 1 pack of 10 plants ($4.57 per plant)
3-9 packs: $29.70 per pack ($2.97 per plant)
10-99 packs: $27.70 per pack ($2.77 per plant)
Additional discounts on 1000 or more plants
In stock.
pack(s) of 10 Bare Root plants
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Ferns, 20% off: 25 Japanese Painted + 25 Cinnamon Ferns
On sale: $178.80
Regularly: $223.50
On Sale!

Lady Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Japanese Painted Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Hay-scented Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Hay-scented Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Japanese Shield Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Southern Shield Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Ostrich Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$166.75 for 25 plants

Cinnamon Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Cinnamon Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Royal Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$45.70 for 10 plants

Royal Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Royal Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants

Christmas Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$74.25 for 25 plants

Ostrich Fern
{10 Bare Root plants}
$67.70 for 10 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 05/08/2020
Email when available

Ostrich Fern
{25 Bare Root plants}
$121.75 for 25 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 05/08/2020
Email when available

Christmas Fern
{25 Pots - 3 1/2 in.}
$154.25 for 25 plants
Out of stock.
Expected 02/28/2020
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.