Catmint 'Blue Wonder' {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

Nepeta 'Blue Wonder' is a lovely dwarf, mounding, bushy perennial growing 12-18" tall. It features a long blooming mass of two-lipped, trumpet-shaped, stunning and long blooming dark blue flowers in loose, interrupted racemes (to 6") atop square, leafy stems with oval, intricately-veined, fragrant, gray-green foliage.
General information about Nepeta (Catmint):
If you’re looking for a vibrantly blooming perennial that is long blooming, heat tolerant, resistant to pests and diseases, and easy to grow, then catmint (or Nepeta) is for you!

Catmint makes a stunning display when massed in flower gardens, in rock gardens, as borders and edging, and in containers. A dazzling array of hummingbirds and butterflies flock to the aromatic long blooming flowers, which make excellent cut flowers in floral designs. Often used to cover the bare limbs of rose bushes, providing a pleasing counterpoint to the vivid tones of the roses.

Nepeta explodes with a profuse haze of blooms in late spring and continues with an almost continuous rebloom into fall under optimum growing conditions and proper shearing of spent flower spikes. Resistant to salt and thriving in seaside plantings, the minty, aromatic foliage repels rabbits, voles, and deer.

Catmint prefers average well-drained soil and in full to part sun sun (in northern zones, 6+ hours of sun is best); shade-grown plants are floppy and flower poorly. Keep it well watered the first growing season until the plants become established. Established plants thrive in full sun and exhibit exceptional of dry soils, drought and humidity. Somewhat intolerant of the heat and humidity of the deep South, however, and appreciates some afternoon shade in hot climates.

Catmints thrive best when divided every 3-4 years in early spring. Leave spent foliage in place over winter to help protect the crown, cut back old foliage in late winter rather than in the fall. Prune back plants by one-third to one-half after the initial bloom to stimulate re-bloom. Must be propagated by division, as seeds are sterile.

Don’t bother to fertilize it. Catmint prefers well-drained soil that is not overly fertile. In fact, soil that is too rich may cause the plant to flop over or split in the middle. Should that happen, shear the plant back to tidy it up. Some compost in fall or spring will provide sufficient nutrients to keep the plant happy.

Nepeta racemosa and N. nepetella were first crossed by Dutch nurseryman, J. H. Faasen, in the 1930’s.

Interesting Facts
When Nepeta's stems are broken, they release an aroma into the air that tends to attract cats, thus its common name, Catmint.

Many people confuse catmint with catnip (Nepeta cataria). While the two are closely related, catnip is more aromatic than catmint but less ornamental.

Catmints are effective at repelling mosquitos!
Specifications:
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Very pleased.
06/21/2017 By Terry Mikels
Product reviewed: Catmint 'Blue Wonder' {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

06/21/2017 Received plants in healthy condition. Excellent service, quick shipment. Will order from again.

06/03/2017 All plants arrived in healthy condition on the day expected. Once planted, they survived two light Spring frosts and many were producing flowers within 2 weeks.

05/01/2017 I would have given this five stars, but the flowers are nowhere near as blue as in the photos. I compared them to my Walker's Low and the flowers are just a slightly darker lavender. But that is my only disappointment.

I planted them in two... Read full review >
Most plants shipped well
09/06/2016 By Michael Pollio
Product reviewed: Catmint 'Blue Wonder' {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

09/06/2016 Two plants were damaged and I hope they may come back as I planted them.
Otherwise all 22 were planted in my butterfly garden and can't wait until spring.

=============
09/06/2016 Classy Groundcovers comment:
Please tell us immediately if anything... Read full review >
Excellent catmint.
06/08/2016 By Penny Chelucci
Product reviewed: Catmint 'Blue Wonder' {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

06/08/2016 Excellent plants and delivery.
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Don’t bother to fertilize it. Catmint prefers well-drained soil that is not overly fertile. Some compost in fall or spring will provide sufficient nutrients to keep the plant happy.

Catmints thrive best when divided every 3-4 years in early spring. Leave spent foliage in place over winter to help protect the crown, cut back old foliage in late winter rather than in the fall. Prune back plants by one-third to one-half after the initial bloom to stimulate re-bloom. Must be propagated by division, as seeds are sterile.
Deadheading spent flower heads is recommended to promote extended blooming.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away
Nepeta x faasenii 'Blue Wonder'
(AKA Nepeta racemosa 'Blue Wonder', Nepeta mussinii 'Blue Wonder', Faassen's Catmint 'Blue Wonder')
Pronunciation: NEP-eh-tuh fah-SEN-ee-eye
Product: 9417

FREE SHIPPING!
25 - 249: $5.07 each250 - 999: $4.77 each
1000 - 2499: $4.53 each2500 - 4999: $4.44 each
5000 - 9999: $4.29 each10000 - 19999: $4.05 each
20000+: $3.82 each
In stock.
(minimum of 25) 3 1/2 in. Pots
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.

Related Products


Catmint
'Walkers Low'
3 1/2 in. Pots,
min 25
$5.07 or less

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.