Phlox 'Red Wings' {3 1/2 in. Pots, min 25}

Phlox subulata 'Red Wings' (AKA Creeping Phlox, Moss Phlox)
Pronunciation: FLOCKS sub-you-LAY-tuh
Product: 707

FREE SHIPPING!
25 - 249: $6.27 each250 - 999: $5.97 each
1000 - 2499: $5.67 each2500 - 4999: $5.55 each
5000 - 9999: $5.37 each10000 - 19999: $5.07 each
20000+: $4.78 each
In stock.
(minimum of 25) 3 1/2 in. Pots
[ How many plants do I need? ]
Shop With Confidence
Read reviews of us: Google - - Dave's Garden.
Secure online billing.
We assure your privacy.
If the color pink could be set on fire, you'd get Phlox Red Wings with its deep fuchsia petals and even deeper pink centers. Naturally, she attracts butterflies and hummingbirds with her month-long, colorful display in early spring to early summer.

Her moderate growth rate, makes her ideal for plantings in mass or in a smaller area you wish to blanket quickly. Of course her foliage stands on its own as a mossy textural element in the garden once the blossoms have dissipated. If you want color, this is the variety of Phlox for you!

Gardener Tip
This variety of Phlox is particularly stunning surrounding hydrangea and daisies.
See other plants that go well with this plant.
General information about Phlox:
Any gardener who has used Creeping Phlox once will insist on planting again and again. The blanket of delicate, colorful flowers that greet you every spring can only be described as perfectly pretty year after year.

A versatile, easy-to-grow groundcover that forms a dense carpet-like mat no taller than six inches, Phlox proves excellent for erosion control on slopes and in plantings of any size. She cascades like billows of cloth over curbs, drapes down walls, and huddles over hanging baskets. Her flowers blanket slopes all across the south in spring, but her wispy sage evergreen foliage is also an undeniable feature with their tell-tale linear growth.

Though she does prefer full sun for best blooms, she will also do well in partial sun. While she puts up with a variety of soil conditions, ideally she wants well-drained soil and tolerates drought (does not tolerate too much moisture).

Phlox makes a good edging plant for difficult locations including rock gardens. She comes in a variety of colors, so you’re sure to find the perfect shade for your garden.

Gardener Tips
Consider placing multiple plants in one area for quick filling, then in 2-3 growing seasons, you can easily divide this plant in early spring and use her in other areas.

Try planting Phlox with bulbs such as tulips and daffodils for a gorgeous spring display.

Try planting Phlox as a border for herb gardens where she will blanket the earth beneath taller growers such as basil, chives and lavender while not disturbing their productivity.
Specifications
Reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Quality plants and service
04/02/2016 By Janet Trotter
Product reviewed: Phlox 'Red Wings' {3 1/2 in. Pots min 25}

The plants I ordered were top notch. They arrived in great condition and since I couldn't plant them right away, they have been living in the garage and doing very well. Since I ordered early, I was able to get a mixed flat of two colors. I am so anxious to... Read full review >

the plants were arrived at the scheduled time, and looked very healthy. I asked if I could get mixed pots, they satisfied my needs. Thank you. I will order other plants later from the site.
Red Wings Phlox
05/19/2015 By Barbara Rice
Product reviewed: Phlox 'Red Wings' {3 1/2 in. Pots min 25}

Received my order a week ago. They arrived as scheduled. Plants look healthy. I can't say how well they are doing yet since they have only been in the ground for a week.
Realy nice Phlox
05/06/2015 By Robert Nasinka
Product reviewed: Phlox 'Red Wings' {3 1/2 in. Pots min 25}

My red wing phlox arrived fast & was in excellent shape, much better then the big box stores
creeping phlox
04/26/2015 By Dana Smith
Product reviewed: Phlox 'Red Wings' {3 1/2 in. Pots min 25}

the redwing creeping phlox came exactly on time ,and in prime condition. Due to weather I haven't been able to plant them yet but they are still gorgeous
I couldn't have asked for better help
Shipping
No unusual shipping concerns for this plant.
FREE SHIPPING - Classy Groundcovers offers free shipping, and your plants never spend more than three days in transit.

Precise delivery - another benefit from shopping with us is that you know how many days delivery will take and can control exactly when your order will be shipped.

Shipping information that applies to all plants:
- Transit Time For Your Shipment (at most 3 days)
- When We Ship
- You May Specify Your Shipping Date
- Lookup Shipping Date and Tracking Information
- Special Delivery Instructions
- No Shipments To: AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA or internationally
- Changing Your Shipping Date
- Accepting Delivery
- Unpacking Your Order
- Returns
Care
After blooming, a light shearing will stimulate new growth (possibly inducing a summer reblooming) and make it look more attractive through winter.
General information that applies to all plants:
- Ground preparation, fertilization, pH
- Planting instructions
- Explanation and description of bare roots
- How to plant bare root plants
- If you cannot plant bare roots right away

Related Products


Phlox
'Blue Emerald'
flat of 18 Pots - 3 1/2 in
$107.46 ($5.97 per plant)

Phlox
'Purple Beauty'
flat of 18 Pots - 3 1/2 in
$107.46 ($5.97 per plant)

Phlox
'Snowflake'
flat of 18 Pots - 3 1/2 in
$107.46 ($5.97 per plant)

Phlox
'Blue Emerald'
3 1/2 in. Pots min 25
$6.27 or less

Phlox
'Candy Stripe'
3 1/2 in. Pots min 25
$6.27 or less

Phlox
'Drummond's Pink'
3 1/2 in. Pots min 25
$6.27 or less

Phlox
'Purple Beauty'
3 1/2 in. Pots min 25
$6.27 or less

Phlox
'Snowflake'
3 1/2 in. Pots min 25
$6.27 or less

20% off Stunning Phlox Mix: 25 Phlox
'Drummond's Pink', 25 Phlox 'Candy Stripe', 25 Phlox 'Snowflake'
On sale: $376.20
Discount: 20%
On Sale!

Phlox
'Drummond's Pink'
flat of 18 Pots - 3 1/2 in
$107.46 ($5.97 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected date unknown
Email when available

Phlox
'Fort Hill'
flat of 18 Pots - 3 1/2 in
$107.46 ($5.97 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected date unknown
Email when available

Phlox
'Blue Emerald'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 20, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Candy Stripe'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 1, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Drummond's Pink'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 20, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Fort Hill'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 28, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Purple Beauty'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected May 31, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Red Wings'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 29, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Scarlet Flame'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected May 24, 2024
Email when available

Phlox
'Snowflake'
tray of 72 cells
$199.44 ($2.77 per plant)
Out of stock.
Expected June 14, 2024
Email when available

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RECEIVE DISCOUNTS?

Your privacy is important to us, we will not send you any unnecessary email. If you wish to be advised of our sales (2-4 times per year), join our mail list.